Peterborough Utd 2 Newcastle Utd 3

Basic Information

Date 3rd April 2010.
Stadium London Road, Peterborough, England
Competition Championship.
Attendance 12,877 (4,107 away).
Officials Mark Haywood.
S. D. Lewis.
K. G. Yeo.
Ian Dudley.

Rock-bottom Posh give league leaders Newcastle Utd a scare. Jim Gannon’s side start brightly: Kerrea Gilbert’s long ball, and pressure from Liam Dickinson, causes a mix-up between Steve Harper and Fabricio Coloccini, and Dominic Green lofts the ball in from 20 yards. Soon after Sergio Torres misses a great opportunity to double the lead, then Joe Lewis denies Kevin Nolan twice. José Enrique makes a last-ditch tackle to stop Lee Frecklington, having been played through by Tommy Rowe’s reverse pass. In first-half injury time Nolan bundles home Enrique’s cross. Straight after the break Joey Barton scores his first goal for 15 months with a 25-yard free kick. The visitors continue to dominate as Lewis is beaten by the bounce on Shola Ameobi’s low shot. Dickinson creates a nervy finish, however, turning Exodus Geohaghon’s long throw in at the far post. Chris Hughton says “Peterborough passed the ball better than we did and, although they didn’t create too many goal-scoring opportunities, they were the better side.” Results elsewhere delay Posh’s relegation and Newcastle’s promotion.


Peterborough Utd
Jim Gannon
Nicky Eaden (assistant)
Starting line-up
1 Joe Lewis (captain)
2 Kerrea Gilbert (loaned from Arsenal)
5 Gabriel Zakuani Yellow Card
6 Charlie Lee (-55')
7 Liam Dickinson Goal (-89') (loaned from Brighton & Hove Albion)
8 Lee Frecklington
14 Tommy Rowe
22 Sergio Torres (-46')
25 Dominic Green Goal (-46')
30 Scott Griffiths
34 Exodus Geohaghon
12 Craig Mackail-Smith (+46')
13 James McKeown
17 Jamie Day
26 Danny Mills
29 Ryan Bennett (+55')
33 Josh Simpson (+46')
35 Reuben Reid (loaned from West Bromwich Albion)
Newcastle Utd
Chris Hughton
Colin Calderwood (assistant)
Starting line-up
1 Steve Harper
2 Fabricio Coloccini
3 José Enrique
4 Kevin Nolan Goal
6 Mike Williamson
7 Joey Barton Goal (-87')
12 Danny Simpson
17 Alan Smith
20 Leon Best Yellow Card
21 Fabrice Pancrate (-46')
23 Shola Ameobi Goal (-83')
10 Wayne Routledge (+46')
11 Peter Løvenkrands
16 Ryan Taylor
18 Jonás Gutiérrez Yellow Card (+87')
22 Nicky Butt (+83')
26 Tim Krul
28 Kádár Tamás