Reading 6 Peterborough Utd 0

Basic Information

Date 17th April 2010.
Stadium Madejski Stadium, Reading, England
Competition Championship.
Attendance 15,982 (386 away).
Officials Carl Boyeson.
Carl Berry.
John Farries.
John Busby.

Gary Johnson’s second game in charge sees Posh suffer their heaviest defeat for 25 years. Reading quickly open the scoring as Alex Pearce heads in Brian Howard’s corner. Joe Lewis denies Gylfi Sigurðsson and Ryan Bertrand; Exodus Geohaghon is taken off as Johnson changes formation. Craig Morgan fouls Bertrand and the lead is doubled through Sigurðsson’s calmly-taken penalty. Jobi McAnuff scores soon after, having easily beaten Ryan Bennett. Things turn from bad to worse as Gabriel Zakuani limps off. Jimmy Kébé scores the host’s fourth just before the break. Four minutes into the second half Lee Frecklington wastes Posh’s first real chance, hitting the side netting having rounded Adam Federici. Lewis twice denies Shane Long, who makes no mistake on his third attempt. With quarter of an hour to go Long manages to hit the bar from two yards out, only for Sigurðsson to net the rebound. Craig Mackail-Smith’s overhead kick goes wide before Mark Little becomes the second Posh player to go off injured. Lewis denies Kébé his second and manages to keep Charlie Lee’s attempted clearance out. Both Sigurðsson and Kébé do find the net in the dying moments, but are ruled offside.


Brian McDermott
Starting line-up
1 Adam Federici
7 Jay Tabb (-77')
9 Shane Long Goal
11 Jobi McAnuff Goal (-62')
14 Jimmy Kébé Goal
24 Ryan Bertrand (loaned from Chelsea)
25 Gylfi Sigurðsson Goal Goal Yellow Card
26 Alex Pearce Goal
34 Brian Howard
40 Andy Griffin (loaned from Stoke City)
44 Zurab Khizanishvili (-69') (loaned from Blackburn Rovers)
6 Brynjar Gunnarsson (+69')
17 James Henry (+62')
18 Simon Church
19 Hal Robson-Kanu
20 Jem Karacan (+77')
21 Ben Hamer
23 Grzegorz Rasiak
Peterborough Utd
Gary Johnson
Nicky Eaden (assistant)
Starting line-up
1 Joe Lewis (captain)
4 Craig Morgan
5 Gabriel Zakuani (-30')
6 Charlie Lee
8 Lee Frecklington
12 Craig Mackail-Smith
14 Tommy Rowe
16 Mark Little (-85') (loaned from Wolverhampton Wanderers)
29 Ryan Bennett
30 Scott Griffiths
34 Exodus Geohaghon (-16')
13 James McKeown
20 Ben Wright
25 Dominic Green (+85')
26 Danny Mills (+16')
27 Romone McCrae
28 Kwesi Appiah
33 Josh Simpson (+30')