Olhanense 2 Peterborough Utd 0

Basic Information

Date 10th July 2010.
Stadium Estádio José Arcanjo, Olhão, Algarve, Portugal
Competition Friendly.
Officials Paulo Silva.

Posh are beaten by top-flight side Olhanense in the stifling heat as part of their training camp on the Algarve. In the opening moments George Boyd is brought down on the edge of the area, but Marcelo Moretto is able to punch Grant McCann’s free kick clear. Soon after the hosts take the lead, João Gonçalves heading an in-swinging corner in at James McKeown’s near post. Nathaniel Mendez-Laing’s pace creates an opportunity for himself, but his shot fails to test Moretto. The lead is doubled as Posh are caught on the counter-attack, and Djalmir is allowed to take a touch then confidently flick the ball past McKeown. Aaron Mclean has Posh’s first clear-cut opportunity soon into the second half following Tommy Rowe’s free kick, but he fires his volley over the crossbar. Chris Whelpdale and Nana Ofori-Twumasi miss further chances as Posh fail to find the net. Ryan Bennett returns to the pitch to replace Kelvin Langmead, while the hosts bring on a handful of African trialists.


Daúto Faquirá
Hélder Rocha (assistant)
Starting line-up
- Marcelo Moretto (off)
- João Gonçalves Goal (loaned from Sporting)
- Ferreirinha (on trial)
- Anselmo
- Carlos Fernandes
- Fernando Alexandre (loaned from SC Braga)
- Delson
- Jorge Gonçalves
- Vinícius
- Paulo Sérgio
- Djalmir Goal
- Ricardo Baptista (on) (off) (loaned from Sporting)
- Matias (on)
- Paulo Renato (on)
- Clécio (on)
- Bruno Veríssimo (on)
- Koné (on) (on trial)
- Williams (on) (on trial)
- Kadar Hassan (on) (on trial)
- Tiago Molina (on)
- Fábio (on)
Peterborough Utd
Gary Johnson
Nicky Eaden (assistant)
Starting line-up
1 James McKeown
2 Mark Little
4 Kelvin Langmead (-70')
7 James Wesolowski (-46')
10 George Boyd (-46')
11 Grant McCann (captain) (-46')
15 David Hibbert (-46')
16 Ryan Bennett (-46')
17 Nana Ofori-Twumasi
19 Nathaniel Mendez-Laing (-46') (loaned from Wolverhampton Wanderers)
21 Arron Davies (-46')
6 Charlie Lee (+46')
9 Aaron Mclean (+46')
12 Craig Mackail-Smith (+46')
14 Tommy Rowe (+46')
16 Ryan Bennett (+70')
18 Chris Whelpdale (+46')
20 Nathan Koranteng (+46')
23 Carl Piergianni (+46')