Peterborough Utd 0 Brighton & Hove Albion 3

Basic Information

Date 30th October 2010.
Stadium London Road, Peterborough, England
Competition League One.
Attendance 10,116 (2,519 away).
Officials Gary Sutton.
Russell Fletcher.
Guy Stretton.
M. A. Sutton.

Having billed the match as a ‘cup final’, Posh capitulate and let Brighton extend their lead at the top of the table. Joe Lewis denies Glenn Murray and Liam Bridcutt early goals, only for Ashley Barnes to head in Elliott Bennett’s free kick. George Boyd is then sent off after an off-the-ball tussle with Barnes. Minutes later Ryan Bennett brings down his name-sake in the box, but Lewis expertly saves his penalty. Aaron Mclean is surprisingly withdrawn and the visitor’s lead is immediately doubled after the ball falls kindly to Iñigo Calderón in the 6-yard box. Lewis continues his good performance into the second half, pushing Radostin Kishishev’s fierce volley over the bar. He does, however, bring down Elliott Bennett for a second penalty, and Barnes completes his 21st birthday celebrations by converting. Substitute Chris Whelpdale has Posh’s best chance late on, but he can only fire high and wide. The embarrassingly poor result leaves Gary Johnson considering his future, while Gus Poyet praises Lewis: “We came here, away from home, scored three goals and their goalkeeper was man of the match. Credit to him because it was an excellent performance.”


Peterborough Utd
Gary Johnson
Nicky Eaden (assistant)
Starting line-up
1 Joe Lewis Yellow Card
2 Mark Little
4 Kelvin Langmead
6 Charlie Lee Yellow Card
7 James Wesolowski (-64')
9 Aaron Mclean (-30')
10 George Boyd Red Card (-25')
11 Grant McCann (captain) Yellow Card
12 Craig Mackail-Smith
16 Ryan Bennett Yellow Card
19 Nathaniel Mendez-Laing (loaned from Wolverhampton Wanderers)
8 Lee Frecklington (+30') (-50')
15 David Hibbert
17 Carl Piergianni
18 Chris Whelpdale (+50')
21 Arron Davies
22 Nana Ofori-Twumasi (+64')
23 Steve Collis
Brighton & Hove Albion
Gus Poyet
Mauricio Taricco (assistant)
Starting line-up
16 Casper Ankergren
3 Gordon Greer (captain)
6 Adam El-Abd
7 Elliott Bennett
9 Ashley Barnes Goal Goal
14 Iñigo Calderón Goal
17 Glenn Murray Yellow Card (-70')
18 Gary Dicker
22 Marcos Painter
25 Radostin Kishishev (-77')
26 Liam Bridcutt
1 Peter Brezovan
4 Tommy Elphick
5 Agustín Battipiedi (+77')
11 Cristian Baz (+70')
12 Kazenga LuaLua (loaned from Newcastle Utd)
15 Gary Hart
24 Jamie Smith