Peterborough Utd 1 Tottenham Hotspur 1

Basic Information

Date 8th January 1994.
Stadium London Road, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England
Competition FA Cup (third round).
Attendance 19,169.
Officials R. L. Biggar.

Posh are unlucky in a classic cup-tie, as Spurs, missing Teddy Sheringham, force a replay. Darren Anderton has the first chance, but wastes his effort after Micky Hazard forced Fred Barber into a poor clearance. Darren Bradshaw gives Spurs a worry as his free kick is deflected, only for Erik Thorstvedt to save. Just before the break Barber saves Jason Dozzell's header, then blocks Darren Anderton's shot; the ball breaks to Justin Edinburgh, but Ian Carter gets in the way to force a corner. Dominic Iorfa comes on in the second half and his pace terrifies the visiting defence. Posh then take a deserved lead: David McDonald feeds Tony Adcock, whose cross evades everyone except Jason Brissett, who slides it home at the far post. Thorstvedt then has to make a double save in the 75th minute from Ken Charlery to keep Spurs in the game. With the game almost over, however, Anderton finally provides his first decent cross, and Dozzell's header levels the game. Charlery almost prevents a replay, only for Thorstvedt to end up sitting on his shot on the line. "I made the wrong team selection," Chris Turner admits afterwards. "In the second half I told them to go out and have a go. We weren't at the races in the first."


Peterborough Utd
Chris Turner (caretaker)
Starting line-up
1 Fred Barber
2 David McDonald
3 Ian Carter
4 Darren Bradshaw (-35')
5 Chris Greenman
6 Steve Welsh
7 Tony Adcock
8 Detzi KruszyƄski
9 Tony Philliskirk (-58')
10 Marcus Ebdon Yellow Card
11 Jason Brissett Goal
12 Ken Charlery (+35')
13 Mark Tyler
14 Dominic Iorfa (+58')
Tottenham Hotspur
Osvaldo Ardiles
Steve Perryman (assistant)
Starting line-up
1 Erik Thorstvedt
3 Justin Edinburgh
4 Vinny Samways
5 Colin Calderwood
7 Nick Barmby (-73')
9 Darren Anderton
12 Jason Dozzell Goal
14 Steve Sedgley
16 Micky Hazard
20 Darren Caskey
22 David Kerslake
2 Dean Austin
13 Ian Walker
23 Sol Campbell (+73')